I Can’t Warm Up To Slides

… and that’s saying a lot.

Especially since in this warm weather, there’s no way I’d want to cover my feet more than I need to, right? Yet, my go-to type of shoes are still thin slip-ons and gladiator sandalsI just can’t warm up to slides.

adidas-slides-outfit

I’m sorry but they’ll always look like something that belongs near the pool or in the house, when you’re wearing just a bathrobe and nothing more. Fresh out of the shower. Something that keeps your feet off wet floors or cold surfaces, a transition shoe until you get into something proper.

Even when designers try to elevate the slide with embroideries like Iutta did… it still feels wrong in a way (though these are a million times cuter than the Adidas ones everyone’s raving about):

Slides don’t send any message to me and for me, everything you wear should send a message. It doesn’t have to say I’m rich or glamorous like a pair of golden, intricate, D&G sandals, it could simply say I work out to stay fit all day like Nike shoes or I love a masculine touch like Oxfords. It might even say I’m too boho to care like a pair of flip-flops or slip-ons. But a pair of slides? What does that say?

I couldn’t even be bothered with tying my shoelaces.

I don’t expect anyone to look at my feet. 

I was in such a hurry, it’s a miracle I made it out the house with something on. 

My feet are so swollen and bruised from real shoes, it had to be this or a plastic bag.

Do we really want to be that busy, stressed, defeated by life and completely lacking confidence? Do we want to say that to the world? God knows, I don’t. I might stay naked in the house all day (hey, it’s 104 degrees outside!) but you won’t catch me in baggy, ripped clothes or a bathrobe on the street anytime soon.

photo sources: Pinterest, Iutta

Leave a comment