Best Bargains: March

Guys, last month I realized there were 30 days separating me from Paris!! Naturally, I started thinking about what I should pack for my trip – the finest shoes, jackets and bags, channeling my inner Parisienne (what? Yeah, I know I wasn’t technically born there but I’ve always loved that effortless, chic look and now I’m kidding myself I’m going to show it off).

That said, I’m also mentally preparing for two weddings (one in England) and a scorching summer… so somehow, I had to balance it all and buy key pieces for every situation.

On my list, last month:

√ white jeans (I decided to be brave and promise myself not to spill icecream/hot sauce/wine, etc. on them)

√ gladiator sandals (the last ones from Oysho, the blue ones, broke in Greece)

√ strappy sandals with a mighty heel (for the weddings, of course – but I’m going to rock them on some girls night out sessions, too)

Lucky me, I managed to score all the above at great prices and I recommend them to you 100%.

H&M White Jeans – $12

hm white jeans porter mag

As much as I love a boyfriend cut or mom jeans sillhouette, I look horrible in both. My figure goes well with skinny and flared jeans so I didn’t think twice about buying this simple, white pair from H&M. The price was attractive, as well, but the simplicity of the model – no studs, cut-outs, jewels or weird pockets will make them this summer’s staple.

hm white jeans detail

I’m going to mix them with other whites like this kimono-inspired white sweater when the weather turns chilly, but also with my white and black blazer and Tommy shirts.  

hm white jeans texture

Other rules for wearing white (jeans):

  • Create contrast for a bold look with bright lipstick, colorful scarves or statement heels
  • Do a soft appearance with gold jewelry, bronzed skin and tan accessories (bag, jacket)

New Look Ghillie Black Suede Sandals – $38

I’m usually an adept of flats – brogues, loafers, ballerina slippers, slip-ons – you name it. Bur from time to time, a classic stiletto or a strappy sandal with medium heel are more than welcome. For parties, whether they be cocktails or wedding receptions, I chose a laced-up black suede sandal with fringes, both at the back and at the end of the laces.

new-look-strappy-sandals

I got it from $50 to $38 and love the sexy design. Granted, they’re going to hurt, but they are the sort of things that bring you more joy than practicality. Paired with a soft, long evening dress they will give me much needed height; at a cocktail, they will work beautifully with a mini skirt. They should look perfect with silk shorts and pleated skirts, too.

new look strappy sandals fringes

Roxy Gladiator Sandals – $38

roxy sandals

These ones were a no-brainer. I literally wore the ones from Oysho all summer long until they broke – I mean… if that’s not loyalty obsession, I don’t know what is :)) I knew I would need a great replacement for them, so I bought this ones from Roxy at half the price (now, they’re $68 on the site). In classic black, they go with everything, while the design makes them still interesting and noticeable.

roxy sandals detail

They close with a zipper in the back and have turquoise and silver beads lined in the front. I really loved this detail – reminded me of exotic vacations and a carefree life. Ok, I sound really old saying this, right?! :)) But, doesn’t it seem to you too that time is running out, that you’re always on the clock, rarely getting a chance to do something totally spontaneous?

Or maybe that’s just me, I don’t know. I would love to hear from you though – how are you spending time and resources? What do you invest in and how do you make time for out-of-the-blue invitations?

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment